Delayed Departure

I had originally planned to leave this Thursday April 24th, in order to attend the Annual Day Zero Pacific Crest Trail Kickoff (ADZPCTKO), but I have decided to wait a week and leave on May 1st.  It will probably be a tad bit hotter in the desert, and I will still need to finish by Oct 1 to avoid the snows in Washington, but I think this is the right thing to do.  There are apparently a record number of hikers this year due to the increased popularity of the trail.  There are apparently close to 1000 planned hikers, and the ADZPCTKO at Lake Morena is full up.  They were gracious enough to tell me they would make room for me but probably not at the campground itself and away from the other hikers, but I would still be competing for camp sites and food at the stores, etc.  I may still have issues with food being bought up, but I will make it work.

I am still very excited to make the jump and get on the trail.

6 thoughts on “Delayed Departure

  1. jayrocksd Post author

    Hey Pat. Doing great. Steve had originally talked about coming to Lake Morena, so we were touching base on schedules, etc, and catching up. Hope you are doing well.

    Reply
    1. jetski72

      Yes, I am bummed that I could not. Just finally checking everything out on your blog yesterday and today. Went to Modern times last Friday with Joe Y and Lynda and made me think – “When Jay gets back we should have a welcome home here for him!”

      Reply
  2. Heather Tipton

    HI Jay. Sounds like you have a solid plan. Safe travels to you. Looking forward to your travel blogs and pictures.

    Reply
  3. Christopher Lowry

    Wise man. I say, avoid the crowds. I wish I could be there to walk in the rain, and sun, with you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

