Day 2 – Trail Devil

May 2 – Day 2 – unnamed camp site – mile 36.1

I woke up this morning and could barely walk. Fortunately after a walk to the bathroom and a Luke warm shower I actually felt good.

I had planned to go eighteen miles near long canyon creek. The first six miles flew by on the way to Boulder Oaks. But there at the entrance was a pie plate with black lettering on it that said “beer camp 19”. What was this sweet siren’s melody I heard? Like a doomed sailor I had to answer the call.

There was a trail angel with the moniker “Glide On” who was supplying beer and soda to hikers. Really nice guy with lots of stories. However there was also a trail devil there with the moniker “Glide On” who provided two beers, a Tecate and a Natty Ice and regaled myself and three younger hikers for three hours. (The Natty Ice was provided by another angel as he would never get crap beer to freeloaders such as us)

It was a good time and kept me out of a lot of the midday heat but I ended up a little short of the days goal. Nothing to complain about. Not like I need to hurry up and get back to work.

2 thoughts on “Day 2 – Trail Devil

  1. Erol Kilki

    Jay,

    I told you ANY beer in those conditions would taste great. Nice to have “trail angels” like that. Imagine what having a real good beer a couple hundred miles up the road will taste like. Didn’t think it would happen so soon, but enjoy it all, my friend.

    Cheers!

    Erol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

